Last spring semester I started getting into the habit of reading The New York Times every day, which was available across the SJU campus. I was captivated by the tight, witty journalism and decided to order a subscription for the summer months instead of resorting to the pitiful local newspaper. The quality of The Times completely surpassed that of The Bergen Record. When it came time for me to study in London in the fall, I was sad to leave my favorite newspaper behind. Although while I was in London my paper of choice was The Evening Standard.

Nowadays, I regretfully say that I am neither reading a newspaper nor keeping up with the news. If you would ask me now what President Obama said in his State of the Union address, my answer would be no better than Joe Shmoe’s.  I plan to change this flawed aspect of my life.